Judy Moody Series

View: Video Review | Product Image

Judy Moody Series

Judy Moody Series

  • published by Candlewick Press
  • Written By: Megan McDonald
  • Illustrated By: Peter Reynolds
  • We recommend this book for
    ages 6 and up

Quality

Read-it-Again Score

Fun-and-Learning

What It Is

In this 11th and latest book, Judy Moody and the Bad Luck Charm, Judy has a lucky penny that is helping her to win all sorts of things. She hopes that it will help her win the class spelling bee and a trip to Washington D.C. Judy learns the hard way that success isn’t won, it’s worked for.

In the special holiday story, called Judy Moody & Stink: The Holly Joliday, Judy stars with her younger brother Stink (who has his own series geared to boys). All Stink wants for Christmas is snow. But, where they live, it hasn’t snowed on Christmas in more than 100 years. After some wacky holiday misadventures, Judy tries to create “snow” for her brother and they both get quite a surprise on Christmas morning.

(Editor’s Note: Part of the humor of this book is the twist in the title, The Holly Joliday, which this reviewer said incorrectly in her video review!)

Why It’s Fun

Judy Moody is a popular chapter book series from Candlewick Press with more than 16 million copies in print. Judy is a typical 3rd grader and lots of humor and adventure are packed in the books, which are appropriate for readers in 2nd grade and above. All Judy Moody books are illustrated, which really adds to the experience for young readers and helps with reading comprehension. The hardcover version of The Holly Joliday is in color, which makes a nice gift for fans of Judy or Stink.

Who It’s For

The publisher’s recommend ages start at 6 which may be a bit young for the average reader, but at that age, Judy Moody books could be fun as a read aloud with an adult.

What To Be Aware Of

Judy Moody and the Bad Luck Charm is only available in hardcover, but The Holly Joliday is offered in a variety of formats. There aren’t many pitfalls with this series — the language is clean and the characters aren’t too extreme.

Comments

What do you think about Judy Moody Series?

Daily Giveaway

 
$20 Kmart / Land’s End / Sears Gift Card

We are giving away
a $20 Kmart / Land’s End / Sears Gift Card
every day this week!

Sign in to enter to win

You might also want to check out these other Chapter Books: