The 13-Story Treehouse

View: Video Review | Product Image

The 13-Story Treehouse

The 13-Story Treehouse

  • published by Feiwel and Friends
  • Written By: Andy Griffiths
  • Illustrated By: Terry Denton
  • We recommend this book for
    ages 8 and up


Read-it-Again Score


What It Is

Andy and Terry live in a treehouse, but, it's not an ordinary treehouse. As the series' title implies, this one has 13 stories and they include a bowling alley, swimming pool, a secret underground laboratory and a unique vending machine that shoots marshmallows into the boys' mouths! Andy and Terry are also writers and have a deadline to keep. However, they are constantly distracted by outlandish happenings, such as an enormous gorilla in pursuit of giant bananas. With no time left to meet their deadline, the duo decide that their many adventures would make a great novel and set pen to paper.

Why It’s Fun

When a child sits in a treehouse, the sky is the limit for his or her imagination. The 13-Story Treehouse is the first of a new chapter book series that does a great job of capturing the ultimate treehouse fantasy. The story and illustrations should deliver lots of laughs for readers. The names of the author and illustrator are also the names of the lead characters—a fun twist.

Who It’s For

The publisher recommends this title for ages 8 to 12, but I think it will top out at 10 years of age as middle-schoolers begin to read and appreciate more complex plotting.

What To Be Aware Of

The title is only available in hardcover, so it might be worth checking out of the library first. A sequel is due out in the spring of 2014, which multiplies the treehouse's levels by two!


What do you think about The 13-Story Treehouse?

Daily Giveaway

$20 Kmart / Land’s End / Sears Gift Card

We are giving away
a $20 Kmart / Land’s End / Sears Gift Card
every day this week!

Sign in to enter to win

You might also want to check out these other Chapter Books: